Every day is opening night.


Press Contact:
Rick Miramontez / Michael Jorgensen / Briana Sanchez
rick@omdkc.com / michael@omdkc.com / briana@omdkc.com




New York, NY (November 6, 2019) –New York Stage and Film is thrilled to announce that its annual Winter Gala will honor six-time Tony Award-nominated producer and philanthropist Diana DiMenna, and Academy Award and four-time Golden Globe-nominated and Tony Award-winning actor and producer Tom Hulce. The Winter Gala, a fundraising event to support New York Stage and Film’s year-round theater and film development initiatives, will be held on Sunday, December 8, 2019 at The Ziegfeld Ballroom (141 West 54th Street, New York City). For more information on New York Stage and Film, please visit www.newyorkstageandfilm.org.

The evening includes cocktails, an auction, dinner, and entertainment from special guests in celebration of Diana DiMenna and Tom Hulce.

“This year we are excited to be honoring two forces in the theater, who have developed works that have been seen at New York Stage and Film, on Broadway, and beyond,” said Artistic Director Christopher Burney. “Between Diana DiMenna’s philanthropic and theatrical accomplishments, and Tom Hulce’s storied career on stage, screen, and behind-the-scenes, audiences have gained a greater understanding about where we’ve come from as a society and what connects us all.”

The Winter Gala Co-Chairs include Annette Bening, Dasha Epstein, Barbara Manocherian, Ira Pittelman, Billy Porter, and Denise & Dean Vanech. Serving as Gala Vice Chairs are Rebecca Carpenter Mayer & Max Mayer, Lauren B. Cramer, Carol & Tony Friscia, Kimberly Germ-Cramer, Rebecca Gold, Ruth & Stephen Hendel, Kiki Lambden & Stephen Stout, Jennifer Manocherian, and Barbara Whitman. The Gala Committee is comprised of Elizabeth Bradley, Ed Cheetham, Glenn Degenaars/First Republic Bank, Nina Essman, Raúl Esparza, Aaron Glick, Marcia Goldberg, Thomas Kail, Kate Lear, Amanda Lipitz & Greg Smith, Joe Mantello, Des McAnuff, Michael & Gabrielle Paltz, Sergio Trujillo, and Beth Williams/Grove Entertainment.

Past gala honorees include Jon Robin Baitz, Annette Bening, Dana Delany, Tina Fey, Peter Gallagher, Donald Holder, Don Katz, Laura Linney, Julianna Margulies, Steve Martin, Michael Mayer, Rick Miramontez, Ken Olin, Johanna Pfaelzer, Marc Platt, Christopher Plummer, Bill Pullman, David Rockwell, Jordan Roth, Tony Shalhoub, John Patrick Shanley, Aaron Sorkin, David Strathairn, Stanley Tucci, and Patricia Wettig.


Diana DiMenna is an award-winning theater and film producer and philanthropist. Her Broadway credits include What the Constitution Means to Me; Network; Three Tall Women; Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812; Bright Star; A Doll’s House, Part Two; Meteor Shower; and The Humans (national tour). Her shows in development include Stu for Silverton; Octet; Thoughts of a Colored Man; and Ragtime on Ellis Island. Ms. DiMenna’s first documentary film, Restless Creature: Wendy Whelan, won the inaugural Chita Rivera Award for excellence in dance on film. She has two other films in development. She is a Co-Director with her husband of the DiMenna Foundation, a philanthropic fund that supports the arts, education and the needs of children, including the Robin Hood Foundation, Harlem Children’s Zone and Central Park Conservancy. They are founders of the DiMenna Children’s History Museum at the New-York Historical Society and the DiMenna Center for Classical Music, home of Orchestra of St. Luke’s. Ms. DiMenna serves as Chair of the Board of the Baryshnikov Arts Center and on the Board of Jazz at Lincoln Center.

Tom Hulce is an internationally acclaimed actor. For his Mozart in Amadeus, he received an Oscar nomination, a Golden Globe nomination, and won Italy’s Donatello. He made his Broadway debut at 20, starring opposite Anthony Hopkins in Peter Shaffer’s Equus. He also starred on Broadway in Aaron Sorkin’s A Few Good Men and on London’s West End in The Normal Heart. His films include Dominick and Eugene, Parenthood, Animal House, and voicing the title role in Disney’s Hunchback Of Notre Dame. For his acting work, Tom has received an Oscar nomination, 4 Golden Globe nominations, a Tony nomination, and 2 Emmy nominations, one of which he won. As a producer, he presented the American premiere of Alan Bennett’s Talking Heads starring Annette Bening, Lynn Redgrave, and Tyne Daly. With partner Ira Pittelman and director Michael Mayer, he developed and produced the Broadway musical Spring Awakening, winning 8 Tony Awards including Best Musical, and the Broadway smash Green Day’s American Idiot. Last February, he and Ira organized the Kennedy Center concert production of Chess, directed by Michael Mayer with a new book by Danny Strong. Most recently, the two produced the Tony Award-winning musical Ain’t Too Proud – The Life and Times of The Temptations, written by Dominique Morisseau and directed by Des McAnuff, currently on Broadway. Ain’t Too Proud completed record-breaking pre-Broadway engagements at Berkeley Repertory Theatre, the Kennedy Center, the Ahmanson Theatre, and Toronto’s Princess of Wales Theatre. The Broadway production was nominated for 12 Tony Awards this past season, including Best Musical, and won for Best Choreography. Ain’t Too Proud will launch a national tour in summer 2020 and will play more than 50 cities over its first two years. Tom and Ira have several projects in development including a new musical based on Laura Esquivel’s acclaimed novel, Like Water For Chocolate, directed by Michael Mayer, written by Lisa Loomer, with music by La Santa Cecilia (2019 Powerhouse Residency). Tom (as producer) and director Michael Mayer made their first film together, A Home At The End Of The World starring Colin Farrell, Robin Wright, Dallas Roberts, and Sissy Spacek. Their second film, The Seagull, produced with Leslie Urdang and executive produced by Ira Pittelman, opened last year. Based on the Chekhov classic, it stars Annette Bening, Saoirse Ronan, Corey Stoll, and Elisabeth Moss.

New York Stage and Film (Christopher Burney, Artistic Director; Thomas Pearson, Executive Director; Mark Linn-Baker, Max Mayer, Johanna Pfaelzer, Leslie Urdang, Producing Directors) is a not-for-profit company dedicated to both emerging and established artists in the development of new works for theater and film. Since 1985 New York Stage and Film (NYSAF) has played a significant role in the development of new plays, provided a home for a diverse group of artists free from critical and commercial pressures, and established itself as a vital cultural institution for residents of the Hudson Valley and the New York metropolitan region. The signature programs include Powerhouse Theater Season, New York City Programming, Powerhouse Training Program, Filmmakers’ Workshop, Awards, Fellowships, and Residencies.

Dozens of notable works trace their developmental roots to NYSAF including the 2019 Tony Award winner for Best Musical (Hadestown), 2016 Tony Award winners for Best Musical (Hamilton) and Best Play (The Humans), as well as the Tony Award-winning plays Side Man and Doubt, the Broadway musicals American Idiot and Bright Star, the recently acclaimed The Babylon Line, and the 2017 Pulitzer finalists The Wolves and Taylor Mac’s A 24-Decade History of Popular Music.

# # # #