Every day is opening night.

“35mm A Musical Exhibition” Announces Complete Cast

Rick Miramontez / Andy Snyder
rick@oandmco.com / andy@oandmco.com


“ 3 5 M M
A   M U S I C A L   E X H I B I T I O N ”


New York, NY (February 10, 2012) – Producer John Johnson announced today the complete cast for the New York premiere of 35mm A Musical Exhibition, written by Ryan Scott Oliver based on the photography of Matthew Murphy35mm will play a two-night engagement at Brooklyn’s Galapagos Art Space (16 Main Street) on Wednesday, March 7 and Monday, March 12, both performances at 8:00 p.m.

Directed by Jeremy Bloom, 35mm will feature  a cast of five that includes Alex Brightman (Wicked), Ben Crawford (Shrek), Jay Armstrong Johnson (Hair), and Lindsay Mendez (Godspell), and Betsy Wolfe (Everyday Rapture).

Representing a collision of artistic disciplines as disparate as musical theater, photography, and pop/rock music, 35mm pushes the limits of self-expression to create an art form utterly its own.  A collection of “snapshot stories” are woven together as each of the evening’s original songs is performed – with gusto and musical virtuosity – while the audience is immersed in stunning projections of the photography that inspired it.  35mm brings the connection between pleasures visual and aural into razor-sharp focus, creating a singular, multi-sensory emotional journey.

35mm features Projection Design by Aaron Rhyne, Costume Design by David Withrow, Music Direction by Michael Borth, and a band that includes Matt Hinkley on Acoustic/Electric Guitars, Allison Seidner on Electric Cello, Rich Silverstein on Keyboard, Hiroko “Coco” Taguchi on Electric Violin/Viola, and Jeremy Yaddaw on Drums/Percussion. 

Tickets are $20 ($25 at the door), and can be purchased at www.galapagosartspace.com.  For more information go to www.35mmthemusical.com

Galapagos Art Space is a 9,000 square foot, Obie® Award-winning cultural venue located in DUMBO, Brooklyn. Galapagos is about to become New York City’s first LEED certified ‘green’ cultural venue, and features a 1600 square foot lake, with island seating on the lake, surrounded by an operatic style mezzanine.

35mm is presented by John Johnson and Very Intense Productions in association with Angelina Burnett, Tom & Renee Christina, Diane Finston, Michael Seel and Van Patten Media


Ryan Scott Oliver (Music & Lyrics) is currently writing the score for Disney Theatrical’s stage musical Freaky Friday, directed by Memphis’s Christopher Ashley.  2011 Lortel Award Nominee, 2009 Jonathan Larson Grant Recipient, 2008 Rodgers Award Winner.  Music and lyrics for 35mm, Darling (featured on NBC’s The Apprentice), Mrs. Sharp (Playwrights Horizons July 2009 starring Jane Krakowski, dir. by Michael Greif), Jasper in Deadland, Out of My Head, and the 2010 Writer’s Guild East Awards; a collection of his work, Rated RSO, played the Kennedy Center, Joe's Pub, New York Musical Theatre Festival; Off-Broadway and elsewhere: TheatreWorksUSA's We the People, Rosie O’Donnell’s Theater Kids, and cabarets worldwide.  Upcoming commissions include and The Frog Prince, Cont. (with Chicago’s Emerald City Youth Theatre). Songbook now available: Music+Lyrics by Ryan Scott Oliver: Volume 1. More at www.ryanscottoliver.com.

Matthew Murphy (Photography) is a New York City-based photographer specializing in theater and dance. His work appears regularly in the Arts and Leisure section of The New York Times, and additional credits include Bravo TV, New York Magazine, Playbill, Vanity Fair, The Village Voice, Broadway.com, Broadway World, Dance Magazine, The Financial Times, Dance Spirit Magazine, Movmnt Magazine, Dance Teacher Magazine, Time Out New York and The New York Post. He is a former member of American Ballet Theatre.  For more information visit http://www.MurphyMade.com.

Jeremy Bloom (Direction) directs new music, plays and his original, large-cast adaptations which include Peter~Wendy (dark), La Boheme (spoken), and Leaves of Grass (nude).  He has assisted at The Met and on Broadway and is a Drama League Fellow, Soho Rep Lab Director, alum of the TS Eliot Exchnage and an alum of Northwestern University’s Performance Studies.