Every day is opening night.

American Theatre Wing Now Accepting Applications for 2012 Jonathan Larson® Grants

Press Contact:
O&M Co.
Rick Miramontez / Andy Snyder / Jon Dimond
rick@oandmco.com / andy@oandmco.com / jon@oandmco.com
(212) 695-7400




New York, NY (July 13, 2011) – The American Theatre Wing today announced that applications are now being accepted for the 2012 Jonathan Larson® Grants. The grants, given annually to honor emerging composers, lyricists and book writers, help to continue Tony® Award-winning composer Jonathan Larson’s dream of infusing musical theatre with a contemporary, joyful, urban vitality.

Applications must be post marked by September 9, 2011. Recipients will be announced in January 2012. The grants will be presented and recipients’ work will be showcased for an invited industry audience in late winter, 2012.

All applications must include book, music, and lyrics from one or more works of musical theatre. Individuals may apply for support of their work if it includes all three disciplines. Regular collaborators are encouraged to apply as a team and submit one application. Applicants may only apply once per grant cycle. For complete guidelines and application materials, visit www.americantheatrewing.org/larsongrants.

Originally administered by the Jonathan Larson Performing Arts Foundation (from 1997-2008), the Jonathan Larson Grants became a part of The Wing in 2009, adding to the organization’s storied history of programs designed to support theatre professionals at the beginning of their careers. Under the Jonathan Larson Performing Arts Foundation and now the American Theatre Wing, more than 80 composers, lyricists and book writers have been recognized at the start of their careers.

Past recipients of Jonathan Larson Grants include Nell Benjamin, John Bucchino, Kirsten Childs, Ricky Ian Gordon, Amanda Green, Joe Iconis, Michael Kooman and Christopher Dimond, Michael Korie, Dave Malloy, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, and Ryan Scott Oliver. Last year’s recipients were three songwriting teams—Joshua Cohen and Marisa Michelson, Michelle Elliott and Danny Larsen, and Jack Lechner, Andy Monroe and Michael Zam.

Jonathan Larson’s critically acclaimed musical Rent has just returned to New York City, where it is playing at Off Broadway’s New World Stages. During its landmark Broadway run, the musical received numerous awards and honors, including a Tony® Award for Best Musical, an Obie Award and the Pulitzer Prize. The original Broadway production closed in September 2008, and currently sits as the 9th longest running musical in Broadway history. Jonathan Larson® is a registered trademark of Skeeziks LLC.

The American Theatre Wing (Theodore S. Chapin, Chairman, Board of Directors; Heather Hitchens, Executive Director) is a not-for-profit organization best known as the creator of the Antoinette Perry “Tony” Awards®, which it presents annually with The Broadway League. In addition to the Jonathan Larson Grants, the Wing sponsors many programs, all dedicated to recognizing excellence and supporting education in theatre. At americantheatrewing.org, visitors who want to learn more about the making of theatre can listen to, watch or download from ATW’s extensive media collection, including “Downstage Center,” “In The Wings,” “Working in the Theatre,” and a host of other online resources. Follow ATW on Facebook.com/TheAmericanTheatreWing, youtube.com/americantheatrewing and Twitter.com/TheWing.

# # # # #