Every day is opening night.

Rattlestick Playwrights Theater presents F*!@cking Good Plays! (festival, II) – 7 Days, 10 New Plays

Richard Hillman
(212) 695-7400


F*!@CKING GOOD PLAYS! (festival, II)

AUGUST 1-7, 2011

New York, NY (7/21/11) – Rattlestick Playwrights Theater announced today that they will kick off their 2011/2012 season with the F*!@cking Good Plays (festival, II) – seven (7) days of new play readings by ten (10) of today’s hottest playwrights. The festival, to be presented at Rattlestick Theater (224 Waverly Place – off 7th Avenue South between West 11th & Perry Streets), will begin on Monday, August 1st and continue through Sunday, August 7th. Playwrights include: Trent Creswell, Jessica Dickey, Laura Eason, Kathryn Hathaway, Andrew Hinderaker, Bruce Kronenberg, James Lecesne, Florencia Lozano, Erica Schmidt, and Ken Urban. The readings will be directed by Jessica Blank, Denis Butkus, Evan Cabnet, Trip Cullman, Jill DeArmon, Michael Padden, Erica Schmidt, and Daniella Topol.

The F*!@cking Good Plays (festival, II) performance schedule is as follows:

August 1: 7pm – Color Me Gone, by Bruce Kronenberg. Directed by Jessica Blank.
August 2: 7pm – Girls Turn Red, written and directed by Erica Schmidt.
August 3: 2pm – A House Should Have the Look of Shelter, by Trent Creswell. Director TBD.
                  7pm – Charles Ives Take Me Home, by Jessica Dickey. Directed by Daniella Topol.
August 4: 7pm – Dirty, by Andrew Hinderaker. Directed by Evan Cabnet.
August 5: 7pm – The Mother of Invention, by James Lecesne. Directed by Michael Padden.
August 6: 2pm – Use Your Eyes, by Kathryn Hathaway. Directed by Denis Butkus.
                  7pm – Busted by Florencia Lozano. Directed by Jill DeArmon.
August 7: 2pm – The Undeniable Sound of Right Now, written and directed by Laura Eason.
                  7pm – The Correspondent, by Ken Urban. Directed by Trip Cullman.

Admission is free. For reservations, please email rattlestick@gmail.com and specify which readings you will be attending and the number of seats. For more information, please call (212) 627-2556.

Rattlestick’s 2011/2012 Mainstage season will include new plays by Dan Klores, Dael Orlandersmith, Daniel Talbott, José Rivera, David Adjmi and Academy-Award nominee Jesse Eisenberg.

Rattlestick Playwrights Theater is a multi-award-winning company which has produced over fifty world premieres in the past sixteen seasons and was the recipient of the 2007 Ross Wetzsteon Memorial OBIE Award for its work developing new and innovative work. Rattlestick’s Advisory Board participates in The Emerging Playwrights Project, which matches a new playwright with an established artist for an experienced eye and creative support. Playwright and artist mentors have included Edward Albee, Jon Robin Baitz, Zoe Caldwell, Arthur Kopit, Craig Lucas, Joe Mantello, Terrence McNally and Marsha Norman. Previous plays include Two Boys in a Bed, Message to Michael, Carpool, Volunteer Man, A Trip to the Beach, Ascendancy, Stuck, Vick’s Boy, The Messenger, Saved or Destroyed, Neil’s Garden, My Special Friend, Faster, Bliss, St. Crispin’s Day, Where We’re Born, Five Flights, Boise, Finer Noble Gases, God Hates The Irish: The Ballad of Armless Johnny, Miss Julie, Acts of Mercy: passion-play, Cagelove, It Goes Without Saying, Dark Matters, Stay, American Sligo, Rag and Bone, War, Geometry of Fire, That Pretty Pretty; or The Rape Play, The Amish Project, Killers and Other Family, Post No Bills, Blind, Little Doc, underneathmybed, There Are No More Big Secrets, The Hallway Trilogy, Carson McCullers Talks About Love, the Off-Broadway GLAAD Award-nominated hit The Last Sunday in June, Craig Wright’s The Pavilion (Drama Desk nominee – Outstanding Play of 2005) and Lady (Drama Desk nominee – Outstanding Play of 2008), as well as The Aliens by Annie Baker (2010 Obie Award winner for Best New American Play).