Every day is opening night.

Yale Drama Series

Yale Drama Series

Now celebrating its fourteenth year, the Yale Drama Series Prize is the preeminent playwriting award in cooperation with Yale University Press and is solely sponsored by the David Charles Horn Foundation. The Yale Drama Series Prize is awarded annually for a play by an emerging playwright, selected by a judging panel of one—a distinguished playwright of our time. The winner receives the David Charles Horn Prize of $10,000, as well as publication of the winning play by Yale University Press and a staged reading. The Yale Drama Series is an annual international open submission competition for emerging playwrights who are invited to submit original, unpublished, full-length, English language plays for consideration. 

The 2021 Yale Drama Series Prize will be awarded to Rachel Lynett for her play Apologies to Lorraine Hansberry (You Too August Wilson). The 2021 award recipient was chosen by Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Paula Vogel.

Previous winners of the Yale Drama Series Prize include John Austin Connolly’s The Boys From Siam (selected by Edward Albee in 2007), Neil Wechsler’s Grenadine (selected by Edward Albee in 2008), Frances Ya-Chu Cowhig’s Lidless (selected by David Hare in 2009), Virginia Grise’s blu (selected by David Hare in 2010), Shannon Murdoch’s New Light Shine (selected by John Guare in 2011), Clarence Coo’s Beautiful Province (selected by John Guare in 2012), Jen Silverman’s Still (selected by Marsha Norman in 2013), Janine Nabers’s Serial Black Face (selected by Marsha Norman in 2014), Barbara Seyda’s Celia, a Slave: 26 Characters Testify (selected by Nicholas Wright in 2015), Emily Schwend’s Utility (selected by Nicholas Wright in 2016), Jacqueline Goldfinger’s Bottle Fly (selected by Nicholas Wright in 2017), Leah Nanako Winkler’s God Said This (selected by Ayad Akhtar in 2018), and Lily Padilla’s How to Defend Yourself (selected by Ayad Akhtar in 2019). The Yale Drama Series competition took a one-year hiatus in 2020.


To View Press Info Please Login